Anime Review

The Fate/Series – Anime Review

Genre: Action, Fantasy, Magic, Supernatural

Release Date: Varies


Fate/Zero, Fate/Stay Night, Fate/Stay Night Unlimited Blade Works, Fate/Apocrypha, Fate/Grand Order… the list goes on and on. What is it about? Well, depending on which Fate story you watch, It’s usually a 24-25 episode anime, but some have 2 seasons of 12-13 episodes, and others have a movie.

With the Fate series, don’t expect a philosophical anime with lots of values and slice of life moments, this anime is very action packed and delivers just that 90% of the time. 


As for the reason why I’m reviewing them all together it’s because there’s something all mainstream Fate series have in common, their concept. The concept of the Fate series revolves around mages who compete against other mages for the “Holy Grail” by summoning servants and fighting with them to conquer the Grail, the Grail also summons a servant and appoints that servant as the “ruler” , as you can guess, that spirit is in charge of overseeing the war. In the end, the winning pair gets their wish granted by the Grail.

Servants are Heroic spirits from ancient times that are brought back to life by a mage and are bound to that mage they refer to as “master” by “Command Seals”, I know what you’re thinking, servants, masters, command seals?! Kinky right. However, it’s much more than that, the heroic spirits fall into 7 categories: Archer, Lancer, Caster, Rider, BERSERKER, Assassin, and Saber. To give you some insight into that whole servant class thing, most, if not, all of the heroic spirits in the Fate stories come from real life myths, epic tales, or important characters, picture this: Heracles is a berserker class servant, King Arthur is a Saber class servant, Achilles is a Rider class, Vlad Tepes, is a Lancer class, do you see now? let’s hope my attempt at explaining made it a little more clear. These names are actual characters in the anime and so many more, all the more reason to check it out. 

On a side note, A berseker class servant is a spirit who gave up all common sense in exchange for power, in other words they are mad BEASTS. 




Of all the things I’ve already detailed for the Fate series, I have yet to give you the main reason you should watch this anime, and that reason is none other than the battles. Being a magic warrior type anime, the battles are simply epic, the amazing sound effects coupled with that slow motion goodnessis enough to have you shook, but it doesn’t stop there, the smooth animation, the feel of the characters and their abilities, give you a great thrill as you enjoy those fights.

You might not understand a single thing whatsoever that’s ongoing in the anime, not to mention, the other Fate series happen in the same universe, but do not necessarily follow each other, meaning, don’t go thinking Fate/Zero is season 2 of Fate/Apocrypha, they are unrelated, but the battles are definitely worth it. In addition to all that epicness, each servant possesses an ultimate ability from their weapons called Noble Phantasm, just from the name you can already feel it.

I also like the fact that the anime presents real mythic characters and heroes from old literature and history. I think that’s really original and it adds greatness to the anime, as the character’s fictive portrayal emphasizes their real-life legendary abilities.



The only thing about the Fate series that I think they could do better on, is the introduction. I started with Fate/Zero, and I feel like they just throw you in the story assuming you know everything and the explaining isn’t done right away, so I was a little lost during the first few episodes. Also, the story doesn’t go far, there isn’t much adventure, so as a result, the story is a little short and there isn’t much to it, it doesn’t detail why or how all of this is even happening. However, the plot is good, so along with the fights, it really makes the anime worthwhile.

To clarify, the story describes what the tale is about, also, the why and the how get answered as we move forward, the plot refers to the approach to that story in terms of scene arrangements to highlight the theme, create drama, and give us, watchers, the feels.

When I first started watching Fate/Zero I did not understand a thing, but those fights just kept me going, and eventually, I started to get hooked on the Fate series, that’s literally how good the fights are. So just go see for yourself. Some titles include: Fate/Apocrypha, Fate/Zero, Fate/Stay Night Unlimited Blade Works, you can start with these 3 in any order. Enjoy !

RATING: Story: 8.0 Plot: 9.0 Characters: 8.5 Action/Thrill/Feels: 10 OVERALL SCORE: 8.9 Sir Meliodas Approved

 DISCLAIMER: I do not own any of the images/gifs presented in this blog, all images/gifs belong to their respective owners.



Share some feedback or Ask a Question

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.